Double Take Organizing

"Making life easier!"

Are distractions affecting your organization?

2 Comments

I am guilty and I am sure you are too. You have just worked all day and all you want to do is relax. Perhaps you spend some time online surfing the internet. Perhaps you flick on the television and watch some shows. Maybe you click on your iPad and play some games or text some friends on your cell phone.

Technology is a wonderful thing but it also makes us very distracted.

At a meeting I recently attended for the Professional Organizers in Canada, of which I’m a member, a wonderful lady named Lois Kennedy did a presentation for our members. One of the things she discussed really hit home for me and that was, “Get rid of the shiny objects.”

Business woman standing outside in front of office building, using mobile phone

If you are a parent, you have surely read numerous articles about “being present.” As a mom myself, I do see many parents on cell phones at parks and community centres whilst watching their children. I am not condoning this behaviour but it does distract us.

I often wonder about what it would have been like to live 100 years ago. Were past generations more organized because they had less-distractions to occupy their time? My grandmother had seven children and was one of the most organized women I have ever met.

So what can you do?

To start, I suggest an organizing diet of limiting one distraction every day and spending that time doing something to help you get organized.

For example, instead of watching television at night, spend that time making a meal plan or to-do list for the week. Organize your cupboards or even initiate the 15 minute nightly clean-up. All of these things will add up over time.

For the spirited and spontaneous among us getting organized can seem boring and downright repetitive but if you buckle down, remove the distractions and get into a routine it can become a time saver, a stress saver, a money saver and a general life saver.

As always, if you aren’t sure where to start, get in touch.

Happy organizing!
Laura

Author: lauramariewatts

Along with my wonderful husband and two daughters, I am figuring out this thing called life a little bit each day. Every day is precious and I try not to waste it!

2 thoughts on “Are distractions affecting your organization?

  1. It’s always hard to juggle work and home life and I think the “shiny objects” are a convenient escape. Must be challenging, especially when you’re the head of your own business like you are!

Leave a Reply

