Double Take Organizing

"Making life easier!"

Summertime and the living is easy, seven tips for staying organized in the summer

Leave a comment

Tropical Drink by a Swimming Pool

It seems that even this organizer is having a case of summer time escapism. For some reason, once the sun is up and shining it’s just a crying shame to waste the day indoors.

And so I haven’t been…for the most part.

I have spent the last three weeks helping my husband install a patio in the backyard, preparing for my daughter’s birthday, taking care of both of my children, my husband (most days), running my business and generally taking care of all aspects of the household, paying bills, making meals, cleaning, etc. etc. etc. Now if that’s not organized I don’t know what is.

But I digress…the best part about everything I just mentioned is that even though it has been busy, I finished every task on time, in a scheduled and orderly manner and am generally quite pleased with myself. I even gave myself a pat on the back the other day and said, “Good job self!”

Thinking about the advice I can give all of you to keep you organized this summer I immediately thought of maintenance. Now, when I say maintenance, I mean what happens after you organize an area. On our summer to- do list, the husband and I are organizing our garage, our storage area under our stairs, and the area of our basement that is not really used and is thus a place where things just get put but not organized.

I am not ashamed to admit as an organizer that my house is not completely organized at all times because as I tell all of my clients, it is constant maintenance that keeps things in shape. All of these areas were previously organized but have now become unorganized and so the cycle repeats itself. Life happens, things change and you are only human. The good news is that if you follow some of these classic organizing rules the faster it is to maintain things until you can really take some time and organize the heck out of certain areas of your home.

1) Keep the one in, one out rule top of mind at all times for everything
2) Make a to-do list of daily, weekly and monthly chores and stick to it
3) Sometimes you do need to invest in organizing products but really make sure you have fully purged everything you no longer need and that you aren’t just buying something for the sake of buying it.
4) If you have children, teach them to clean up, this goes for spouses too, ha!
5) Aim to give away/ get rid of one bag of stuff a month. The less stuff you have, the less you need to organize.
6) Touch paper once and then deal with it, this includes all forms of mail, flyers, newspapers, newsletters, you name it
7) Hire a wonderful person like myself to come in every season to help. I provide motivation, knowledge, overall support as well as muscle!

I hope everyone gets all of their summer projects off their to-do list so that once fall arrives, you can move full steam ahead. Everyone needs to be energized and ready to roll because once fall is upon us kids are back to school and the season of turkey’s, presents and Jolly old St. Nick isn’t far behind.

Happy organizing!
Laura

Author: lauramariewatts

Along with my wonderful husband and two daughters, I am figuring out this thing called life a little bit each day. Every day is precious and I try not to waste it!

Leave a Reply

