Double Take Organizing

"Making life easier!"

Organizing with teens

Leave a comment

I recently had the pleasure of working with a teenage girl and her mother to get her bedroom organized before starting high school. It really was a great time to help them out because as I was going through everything with the two of them I thought about how much you change from elementary/middle school to high school. It’s amazing what a few years can do in a young girls life. I found us getting rid of all the “little girl” items like dolls, kids books, clothes that no longer fit, stuffed animals etc. and keeping things like electronics, young adult books, photos and okay, a few stuffed animals too. I didn’t begrudge her too much on those because at certain stages I think certain items are really important to you. Give it a few more years and another organizing later and she will likely think to herself, “Why did I keep those?”

Here are some before and afters of the organizing.

BEFORE

Hayley dresser

IMG_00000677

20130829-154058.jpg

AFTER

20130829-154252.jpg

20130829-154306.jpg

20130829-154315.jpg

REPURPOSED

We re-used the cubby from the bedroom and turned it into an entertainment centre.

20130829-155215.jpg

Should you have a teenager that is in need of some organizing don’t hesitate to contact me.

Happy organizing!
Laura

Author: lauramariewatts

Along with my wonderful husband and two daughters, I am figuring out this thing called life a little bit each day. Every day is precious and I try not to waste it!

Leave a Reply

