Double Take Organizing

"Making life easier!"

How to get focus when life gets hectic 

Leave a comment

Some days even I feel scattered inside. No really, it’s the truth! I have so many things on the go that it’s like a highway in there and the cars are all speeding a million miles an hour in opposite directions. 

But here’s the good news! Since I have figured out what works for me and I have SYSTEMS in place I can make it through the hectic moments and allow myself to refocus. 
One of the biggest things for me is self talk. Rather than telling myself I can’t do something I will often tell myself, “Okay Laura, you can do this. Finish this task and then move on to the next on your list.” And so on and so forth. 

How often do we simply just get in our own way? Too much. 

Another thing that helps me focus is my to-do list. I’ve yet to come across any organizer who does not fill lists upon lists and schedule out their days and months but it really does work.

I would also add that sometimes a break, even a short one can help you get back on track. Let your mind rest a minute or two and do something unrelated and then go back to it. We weren’t meant to stare at screens all day nor can we be ON all the time. We all need time to relax. The trick is knowing when to. 

Lastly, don’t make things too complicated. Think simple steps. The less steps the better in fact. If you are trying to accomplish something with lots of steps, break it down into one or two at a time. Breath deep and go at your own pace. Time will go by no matter what but if you get things done right you will save headaches later on. As my grandma used to say, “Haste makes waste.” 

Happy Organizing!

Laura

Author: lauramariewatts

Along with my wonderful husband and two daughters, I am figuring out this thing called life a little bit each day. Every day is precious and I try not to waste it!

Leave a Reply

